Former Maryland women’s lacrosse goalkeeper Megan Taylor has been named a finalist for the AAU James E. Sullivan Award, making her the first lacrosse player to be a finalist for the annual award. 

The Sullivan Award honors the most outstanding amateur athlete in the country. The 10 finalists from 2019 were announced on Monday, including:

  •         Evita Griskenas, Rhythmic Gymnastics, USA Rhythmic Gymnastics
  •         Grant Holloway, Track and Field, University of Florida
  •         Markus Howard, Men’s Basketball, Marquette University
  •         Sabrina Ionescu, Women’s Basketball, University of Oregon
  •         Trevor Lawrence, Football, Clemson University
  •         Spencer Lee, Men’s Wrestling, University of Iowa
  •         Dana Rettke, Women’s Volleyball, University of Wisconsin
  •         Kyla Ross, Gymnastics, University of California Los Angeles
  •         Megan Taylor, Women’s Lacrosse, University of Maryland
  •         Abbey Weitzeil, Women’s Swimming, University of California Berkeley

[Read more: Maryland lacrosse’s Megan Taylor becomes first goalie to ever win Tewaaraton Award]

Taylor was a four-year starter for the Terps as she helped lead them to two national championships during her career. She was a four-time Big Ten Goaltender of the Year, 14-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week and three-time All-Big Ten selection.

Most notably, she was the first goalkeeper to ever win the prestigious Tewaaraton Award (2019), given to the best men’s and women’s lacrosse players in the nation.

Taylor now serves as a volunteer assistant coach for the Navy women’s lacrosse team.

[Read more: Megan Taylor carried Maryland women’s lacrosse back to the top]