Maryland women’s lacrosse received two year-end accolades recently from US Lacrosse Magazine. 

Head coach Cathy Reese was named Best Women’s Coach of 2019 as the Terps went 22-1 and won the national championship in 2019. Reese’s Terps finished 18-0 in the regular season and defeated Stony Brook, Denver, Northwestern and Boston College in the NCAA Tournament.

Reese received 47% of the votes in the magazine’s poll. However, she wasn’t the only Terp to receive recognition from the magazine, as Megan Taylor was named the best women’s player in 2019. Taylor was the Terps goalkeeper throughout their championship run and was the recipient of the 2019 Tewaaraton award, given to the nation’s best player.

Taylor received 35% of the votes and beat out Boston College’s Sam Apuzzo by 2% for the honor.

In 2019, Taylor became the first goalie to ever win the Tewaaraton Award and had a combined 24 saves in the national semifinal and national championship games.

While Taylor has since graduated, Reese remains as head coach as she looks to win her sixth national championship at Maryland in 2020.