Maryland men’s lacrosse attackman Matt Rambo earned the Tewaaraton Award – given annually to the nation’s most outstanding player – on Thursday night, becoming the first Terp to receive the honor.

It was the culmination of a record-shattering campaign for the Glenside, Pennsylvania, native, who finished his career as the program’s all-time points and goals leader, and led the Terps to their first national championship since 1975.

Rambo was selected for the award over finalists Trevor Baptiste (Denver), Connor Fields (Albany), Ben Reeves (Yale) and Patrick Spencer (Loyola).

The 5-foot-10, 210-pound attackman also won the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award for the nation’s most outstanding player, Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and was selected as a First-Team All American.

Rambo accumulated a team-high 87 points during his senior campaign, racking up 42 goals and 45 assists. He registered 20 points in just four NCAA tournament games, including a goal and an assist in Maryland’s 9-6 title victory over Ohio State.

In his career, Rambo tallied 62 career points in tournament games – the most among players active in 2017 – and helped the Terps reach the Final Four in each of his four seasons in College Park.

Rambo was picked No. 3 overall in the 2017 MLL Draft by the Charlotte Hounds. He was one of five Maryland players taken in this year’s draft.