With the Premier Lacrosse League wrapping up their second season in 2020, Two things have been true so far: The Whipsnakes are THAT good and Matt Rambo & co. are among the league’s elite.

The Whipsnakes, who boasted a league-high 13 former Terps, went undefeated en route to their second straight PLL Championship. Rambo was a large part of the attack once again, leading the league in both points (25), and assists (18). He was voted the best Player in the PLL for 2020 by Inside Lacrosse, a worthy feat for the offensive leader of the two-time champions.

Rambo hasn’t been the only star for the Whipsnakes, as fellow Terps Matt Dunn (6), Michael Ehrhardt (8) and Kyle Bernlohr (14) were also ranked in the Top 20.

Dunn was the highest-ranked defender, after continuing to be a force for the defending champs in 2020. Teams would do what they could to keep Dunn from making an impact, seemingly avoiding matchups against him at all costs. Dunn took home the Dave Pietramala Defenseman of the Championship Series award and was voted to the 2020 all-tournament team.

Ehrhardt was voted the league’s best LSM, or long-stick midfielder, as he had a do-it-all season for the Whipsnakes. He picked up 26 ground balls, caused seven turnovers and recorded seven total points. His performance was enough to win the Brodie Merrill LSM of the Championship Series award.

Bernlohr was among the PLL’s top goalies once again in 2020, registering a league best 65 percent save percentage for the Whipsnakes as they defended their crown. With such a powerful defense laid out in front of him, Bernlohr has held up his end for the Whips, improving his save percentage by eight percent compared to 2019.

Former Terp Jay Carlson has also been a bright spot for the Whipsnakes, as his 12 goals was tied for third-best in the PLL in 2020. Defensemen Tim Muller and Bryce Young, both members of Maryland’s 2017 NCAA Championship squad, as well as Midfielders Mike Chanenchuk, John Haus, and  Joe LoCascio all also made an impact for the 2020 PLL Champions.

With Rambo being the league’s best attackman and Dunn, Erhardt and Bernlohr locking things down on the defensive end, along with a handful of other former Terps, the Whipsnakes seem to have a championship formula already in place as the team looks to continue their reign in 2021.